Thursday, April 3, 2014

A look at state, Farragut contests

Farragut Mayor Ralph McGill won't face opposition in his bid for re-election.

However, incumbent Alderman Bob Markli, who represents the town's North ward, will.

The deadline to qualify to run for state, federal and offices in the Town of Farragut was noon Thursday. That means elections officials can start putting together the official ballots for the Aug. 7 state and federal primaries, and the Farragut - which features non-partisan races - general election.

Here's how it's looking:
  • Markli will face John Underwood for the Farragut Ward I seat, and Ronald Pinchok will take on Ron Williams for the South ward position currently held by Jeff Elliot who opted not to seek re-election.
  • In addition, four of the nine state senate and house seats in the local Legislative delegation will face opposition either in the primary, the general or both contests.
  • District 13 state Rep. Gloria Johnson, D-Knoxville, will face the winner of the Republican primary – either Jason Emert or Eddie Smith.
  • District 18 state Rep. Steve Hall, R-Knoxville, will face Martin Daniel in the May primary. No Democrats qualified to run.
  • State Rep. Joe Armstrong, a Democrat who represents the 15th District, will face Charles Drew, an independent, in the general election. No Republicans qualified to run.
 At the last minute, Mike Alford turned in his petition to run for the 7th District state Senate seat, currently held by Stacey Campfield, a Republican. In addition, Republican and Knox County Commissioner Richard Briggs also is seeking the seat as is Cheri Siler, a Democrat.

No one filed to run against 5th District state Sen. Randy McNally, R-Oak Ridge, or Knoxville Republican state representatives Ryan Haynes (14th District), Harry Brooks (19th District), Bill Dunn (16th District), or Roger Kane (89th District).

Also up this year are three state executive committee seats for the Republican and Democratic parties. These boards are essentially an organizing system for the parties, and chose the state directors of their respective parties. A man and woman from each senate district is selected to make up the overall committee.

The election for the seats is set for Aug. 7.
  • For District 5, Julia Hurley, a female Republican, will take on Melissa Browder. No one will challenge Richard Dawson, a male Democrat. Dixie Damn and Mary Hickman will vie for the female seat. Leon Shields and Scott Smith will square off in the Republican race.
  • In the 6th District, neither Republican Ted Hatfield nor Republican Jane Chedester will face an opponent. However, Cameron Brooks will face Michael Daugherty for the Democratic seat. Sylvia Woods, a female Democrat, also does not face competition.
  • In the 7th District, neither Republican Ken Gross nor Republican Karen Brown will have an opponent, nor will Kim Webber, a Democrat. However, Democrats Bill Owen, the incumbent, will face Mark Harmon, a former Knox County commissioner will vie for the seat.

No comments: