Monday, April 4, 2011

How the local state delegation voted

From what I understand the State Election Commission went ahead and signed off on the local delegation’s picks for the Knox County Election Commission.

It was expected, since the local folks obviously know more than the state folks, which is, uh, pretty typically in the ridiculous world of politics.

Actually, really that’s a good thing.

But don’t tell anyone on the state level that, let alone the federal level.

Because they obviously know what’s better for us, than we do. Most of the time. Just ask them.

Anyhoo, I’m rambling here. I Just wanted to note that we’ll have the same election commission as we’ve had the last few years with one notable exception.

That means Democrats Cassandra McGee Stuart and Cameron Brooks, as well as, Republicans Chris Heagerty and Bob Bowman. In addition Rob McNutt, who somehow managed to vote illegally seven times yet no one seems to care because it was an honest mistake, will replace Paul Crilly, who will go down in local Republican history as a turncoat because he didn’t vote to oust Greg Mackay, the election administrator and a Democrat, two years ago.


The group, if I’m not mistaken, will reorganize so to speak in 20 days. A Republican - because that’s the party with the most folks in the local Legislative delegation – will be the chairman. And the secretary spot goes to a Democrat.

You can imagine what the first order of business will be.

In the meantime, if you’re curious about how the local Republican state lawmakers voted when they made recommendations to the board, I think I have the breakdown.

(This was the secret vote done a couple weeks ago. They needed to do it in secret because they didn’t want the folks who elected them to know how they voted. Actually Steve Hall didn’t mind talking about it. But I digress.)

Anyway, no one in the Knox County Deathstar can keep a secret, so they talked to someone who talked to someone else who then played the telephone game with their brother’s cousin’s mother or whomever and it got back to me.

So I’m probably off a little bit here.

But I doubt it.

The vote for Rob McNutt was 5-3.

Senators Jamie Woodson and Randy McNally and Representative Ryan Haynes voted for Donnie Ellis.

Senator Stacey Campfield and Representatives Steve Hall, Frank Nicely, Harry Brooks and Bill Dunn voted for Rob McNutt.

I'm pretty sure that's how it went down.

But, hey, if I'm wrong then they can call and let me know.

No comments: